Columbia State Community College announced Hope Jones of Cerulean as one of 700 students named to the Dean’s List for earning academic honors during the Fall 2020 semester.

“During the fall semester most classes remained online and in web conferencing formats while COVID-19 cases reached an all-time high in the college’s service area. Some of these students were having a first college experience in this virtual pandemic environment while others continued to manage academic requirements with increasing personal obligations,” said Joni Lenig, interim vice president of academic affairs. “The students who earned this academic achievement proved that college success is possible with hard work and perseverance.”

To qualify for the Dean’s List, students must earn 12 or more credit hours for the semester with a GPA of 3.50 or higher.

Columbia State Community College is a two-year college serving a nine-county area in southern Middle Tennessee with five campuses, including Columbia, Williamson, Lawrence, Lewisburg and Clifton. Columbia State was established in 1966 as Tennessee’s first community college.

The Tennessee Board of Regents is the governing board for The College System of Tennessee: the state’s 13 community colleges, 27 colleges of applied technology and the online TN eCampus serving nearly 100,000 students.