On this year’s general election ballot, there are fewer candidates for Fredonia City Council than there are seats on the council.

Each of the six members of the Fredonia City Council are elected every two years, but the only names on the November ballot are incumbents Presley Lamm, Tonya McGowan and Karen Phelps.

Council members Jonathan Dunbar, Crystal Moore and Mollie Bennett Tabor did not meet the deadline to have their names put on the ballot, nor are they eligible for write-in status.

“I’m going to have to appoint people to be on the city council,” said Fredonia Mayor Jim Siebert.

Voters can vote on those candidates listed on the ballot, but no write-in votes will be counted. Siebert may appoint others to serve on the city council. City council terms begin Jan. 1.